Facebook pixel Events | Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts | Pepperdine Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Arts

Events

Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts logo

At the Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts at Pepperdine University, we spend a lot of time asking ourselves "What makes a good show?" Selecting the right artists is key—musicians, dancers, and performers with incredible talent and relentless determination to perfect their craft. It is an honor to share these artists with you as we announce our 2021–2022 season of performances and museum exhibitions.

Performance Genre
IMAGE TITLE TAGS LINK SORTDATE EXPDATE
Jake Shimabukuro

Sponsored by The Flamminio Family

September 21–22, 2021

Fan Favorites, Virtuosi
Fan Favorites, Virtuosi 20210922 20210924
Colin and Brad
The Scared Scriptless Tour

Friday, September 24, 2021

Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen
Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen 20210924 20210925
Parkening Master Class Thumbnail

Christopher Parkening, Director

Saturday, September 25, 2021, 2PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20210925 20210927
Pepperdine Orchestra Thumbnail

Long-Tao Tang, Director

Thursday, September 30, 2021, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211001 20211002
We Are Proud to Present Thumbnail

By Jackie Sibblies Drury
Nic Few, Director

Tuesday, September 28–Saturday, October 2, 2021

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 20211003 20211004
JD Souther

Sponsored by Ellen and Doug Weitman

Thursday, October 7, 2021, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie
Folk/Rock/Indie 20211008 20211009
The Wailin' Jennys Thumbnail

THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. PLEASE CONTACT (310) 506-4522 FOR A REFUND OR EXCHANGE. 

Friday, October 8, 2021, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie
Folk/Rock/Indie 20211009 20211010
BalletX Thumbnail

Thursday, October 14, 2021, 8PM

Dance and Spectacle  
Dance and Spectacle   20211014 20211015
Alexander Treger Master Class

Alexander Treger, Director

Saturday, October 16, 2021, 2PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211017 20211018
Catapult Thumbnail

Saturday, October 16, 2021, 7:30PM

Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun
Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun 20211017 20211018
New West Symphony

Tuesday, October 19, 2021, 7PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music  20211020 20211021
Chris Thile Thumbnail

Wednesday, October 20, 2021, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie
Folk/Rock/Indie 20211021 20211022
Croce Plays Croce Thumbnail

Friday, October 22, 2021, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie
Folk/Rock/Indie 20211023 20211024
The Robert Cray Band Thumbnail

Saturday, October 23, 2021, 8PM

Soul/Blues/Jazz  
Soul/Blues/Jazz   20211024 20211025
Cirque Mechanics Thumbnail

Wednesday, October 27, 2021, 7:30PM

Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun
Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun 20211028 20211029
Pepperdine Music - Chamber Choir

Ryan Board, Director

Friday, October 29, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211030 20211101
Mamma Mia! Thumbnail

The Luciana and Daniel Forge Fall Musical

Friday, November 12–Saturday, November 20, 2021

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 20211121 20211123
 Rectial Series Thumbnail

Featuring Hiroyo Hatsuyama, pianist

Saturday, November 20, 2021, 4:30 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211121 20211122
Thumbnail Guitar Chamber Concert
Christopher Parkening, Director

Monday, November 22, 2021, 7:30PM

Pepperdine Music
Pepperdine Music 20211123 20211124
Holiday Boutique

Presented by the Center for the Arts Guild

Tuesday, November 30, 2021, 10AM

  20211130 20211201
Christmas Concert Thumbnail

Ryan Board and Long-Tao Tang, Directors

Thursday, December 2, 2021, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music  20211203 20211204
Thumbnail Student Recital Series

Saturday, December 4, 2021, 2 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211205 20211206
Thumbnail Student Recital Series

Featuring David Wilkinson and Beverly Min Thiagarajan, pianists

Saturday, December 4, 2021, 7 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211206 20211207
Geneva Lewis, Violin Thumbnail

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, December 5, 2021, 2PM

Virtuosi, Recital Series 
Virtuosi, Recital Series  20211206 20211207
Pepperdine Orchestra Thumbnail

Vincent Trombetta and Long-Tao Tang, Directors

Monday, December 6, 2021, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music  20211207 20211208
Pepperdine Music - Chamber Concert

Louise Lofquist, Director

Thursday, December 9, 2021, 7:30PM

Pepperdine Music
Pepperdine Music 20211208 20211209
Thumbnail Student Recital Series

Featuring Hiroyo Hatsuyama, pianist

Saturday, December 11, 2021, 7 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211207 20211208
Thumbnail Student Recital Series

Featuring David Wilkinson, pianist

Sunday, December 12, 2021, 7 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20211207 20211208

Take 6 Christmas Thumbnail

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 8PM

Soul/Blues/Jazz  
Soul/Blues/Jazz   20211215 20211216
TAIKOPROJECT Thumbnail
"Benzaiten"

Rescheduled from Sunday, March 6, 2022

Saturday, May 21, 2022, 7:30PM

Fan Favorites, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun  
Fan Favorites, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun   20220522 20220523
Jenny Scheinman Thumbnail

Rescheduled from Friday, January 21, 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022, 8PM

Stars of Stage and Screen
Stars of Stage and Screen 20220603 20220604
Thumbnail Jerome Reed

Special Guest Recital

Sunday, January 16, 2022 • 2PM

Pepperdine Music
Pepperdine Music 20220104 20220105
The Four Freshmen Thumbnail

Sponsored by Anne Marie and Mitch Bredefeld

Sunday, January 23, 2022, 2PM

Soul/Blues/Jazz  
Soul/Blues/Jazz   20220124  20220125
Student Recital Series Image

Sunday, January 23, 2021, 4:30PM & 7PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20220124  20220125
Weepies

Tuesday, January 25, 2022, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie
Folk/Rock/Indie 20220125 20220126
The Queen's Cartoonists Thumbnail

Friday, January 28, 2022, 7:30PM

Stars of Stage and Screen, Family Fun
Stars of Stage and Screen, Family Fun 20220129 20220130
Gabriel Martins, Cello Thumbnail

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, January 30, 2022, 2PM

Virtuosi, Recital Series 
Virtuosi, Recital Series  20220130 20220201
Collision of Rhythm Thumbnail

Sunday, January 30, 2022, 3PM

Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun 
Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle, Family Fun  20220130 20220131
Dala Thumbnail

Tuesday, February 1, 2022, 8PM

Folk/Rock/Indie 
Folk/Rock/Indie  20220202 20220203
On Broadway Thumbnail

Thursday, February 3, 2022, 8PM

Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen 
Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen  20220203 20220204
Dance in Flight

Presented by Pepperdine Student Activities

Thursday, February 10–Saturday, February 12, 2022

Student Productions
Student Productions 20220211 20220213
Faculty Recital

Special Guest Recital

Saturday, February 12, 2022, 6PM

Pepperdine Music
Pepperdine Music 20220211 20220213
Kinsey Collection Opening Celebration

Hosted by the Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art

Saturday, February 19, 2022, Noon–5PM

Family Fun
Family Fun 20220220 20220219
Parkening Master Class Thumbnail

Christopher Parkening, Director

Saturday, February 19, 2022, 2PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20220220 20220221
Orchestra Thumbnail Image

Pierre Tang, Director

Friday, February 25, 2022, 2:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20220225 20220226
Pepperdine Opera: Le Nozze di Figaro

The Flora L. Thornton Opera Program

Thursday, February 24, 2022, 7:30 PM
Saturday, February 26, 2022, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Opera, Pepperdine Theatre, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Opera, Pepperdine Theatre, Pepperdine Music 20220225 20220227
Ailey II Thumbnail

Thursday, March 3, 2022, 8PM

Fan Favorites, Dance and Spectacle
Fan Favorites, Dance and Spectacle 20220304 20220305
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Thumbnail
THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. PLEASE CONTACT (310) 506-4522 FOR A REFUND OR EXCHANGE.

Saturday, March 5, 2022, 11AM and 1PM

Family Fun
Family Fun 20220306 20220307
Edward Pratt Lecture
Featuring Bernard Kinsey, Larry Earl, & Edward Pratt

Presented by the Kinsey Collection 

Saturday, March 5, 2022, 2 PM

  20220306 20220307
Stacey Kent Thumbnail

Wednesday, March 9, 2022, 8PM

Fan Favorites, Soul/Blues/Jazz
Fan Favorites, Soul/Blues/Jazz 20220309 20220310
Tony Yun, Piano Thumbnail

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, March 13, 2022, 2PM

Virtuosi, Recital Series 
Virtuosi, Recital Series  20220313 20220314
Treger Thumbnail Image

Alexander Treger, Director

Saturday, March 19, 2022, 2PM

Pepperdine Music 
Pepperdine Music  20220319 20220320
Contempo Thumbnail
A Tribute to Stephen Sondheim (1930–2021)

Kelly Todd, Director

Saturday, March 19, 2022, 7:30PM

Student Productions
Student Productions 20220319 20220320
Bessie, Billie, and Nina Thumbnail

Thursday, March 24, 2022, 8PM

Soul/Blues/Jazz  
Soul/Blues/Jazz   20220324 20220325
Closing Celebration
Celebrating Black Women 

Hosted by the Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art

Sunday, March 27, 2022, 11AM–5PM

Student Productions
Student Productions 20220326 20220327
Benjamin Baker, Violin Thumbnail

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, April 3, 2022, 2PM

Virtuosi, Recital Series 
Virtuosi, Recital Series  20220404 20220405
Pepperdine Theatre - The Winter's Tale Thumbnail

By William Shakespeare
Hollace Starr, Director

Wednesday, April 6–Saturday, April 9, 2022

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre  20220409 20220409
Pepperdine Orchestra Thumbnail

Ryan Board and Long-Tao Tang, Directors

Tuesday, April 12, 2022, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music  20220413 20220414
Guitar Chamber Thumbnail

Christopher Parkening, Director

Monday, April 18, 2022, 7:30PM

Pepperdine Music 
Pepperdine Music  20220418 20220419
Marc Cohn

Tuesday, April 19, 2022, 8PM

Folk/Bluegrass/Indie
Folk/Bluegrass/Indie 20220418 20220420
Pepperdine Orchestra Thumbnail

Long-Tao Tang and Vincent Trombetta, Directors

Thursday, April 21, 2022, 7:30PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music  20220422 20220423
Satan's Fall Thumbnail
An Oratorio by Stewart Copeland

Sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Pepperdine Cross-School Collaborative Research Program

Saturday, April 23, 2022, 7:30PM

Virtuosi  
Virtuosi   20220424 20220425
Roger McGuinn Thumbnail

Monday, April 25, 2022, 8PM

Fan Favorites, Folk/Rock/Indie 
Fan Favorites, Folk/Rock/Indie  20220426 20220427