Facebook pixel Events | Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts | Pepperdine Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Arts

Events

Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts logo

At the Lisa Smith Wengler Center for the Arts at Pepperdine University, we spend a lot of time asking ourselves "What makes a good show?" Selecting the right artists is key—musicians, dancers, and performers with incredible talent and relentless determination to perfect their craft. It is an honor to share these artists with you as we announce our 2022–2023 season of performances and museum exhibitions.

Performance Genre
IMAGE TITLE TAGS LINK SORTDATE EXPDATE
Classic Albums Live

Sponsored by Anne Marie and Mitch Bredefeld

Thursday, September 8, 2022, 8 PM

Fan Favorites, Pop/Rock/Folk
Fan Favorites, Pop/Rock/Folk 20220908 20220909
Pride and Prejudice
presented by Aquila Theatre

Tuesday, October 4, 2022, 8 PM

Stars of Stage and Screen
Stars of Stage and Screen 20221004 20221005
Parkening Master Class Thumbnail

Christopher Parkening, Director

Saturday, September 24, 2022, 2 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20220925 20220925
Pepperdine Orchestra Thumbnail

Long-Tao Tang, Director

Thursday, October 20, 2022, 7:30 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20221020 20221021
The Importance of Being Earnest

By Oscar Wilde
Bradley Griffin, Director

Tuesday, September 20–Saturday, September 24, 2022

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 20220924 20220924
Graham Nash
An Intimate Evening of Songs and Stories

Friday October 14, 2022, 8 PM

Fan Favorites, Pop/Rock/Folk, Singer-Songwriter
Fan Favorites, Pop/Rock/Folk, Singer-Songwriter 20221014 20221015
Syncopated Ladies

Saturday, October 15, 2022, 8 PM

Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle
Stars of Stage and Screen, Dance and Spectacle 20221015 20221016
Delphi Trio

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, October 16, 2022, 2 PM

Recital Series
Recital Series 20221016 20221017
Peabo Bryson

Saturday, October 22, 2022, 8 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20221022 20221023
Shades of Django

Sunday, October 23, 2022, 7 PM

Global Sounds, Soul/Gospel/Jazz
Global Sounds, Soul/Gospel/Jazz 20221023 20221024
Taimane

Tuesday, October 25, 2022, 8 PM

Global Sounds, Pop/Rock/Folk
Global Sounds, Pop/Rock/Folk 20221025 20221026
Chamber Choir

Ryan Board, Director

Friday, October 28, 2022, 7:30 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20221028 20221029
2022 Holiday Boutique and Luncheon
presented by the Center for the Arts Guild

Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 10 AM

Center for the Arts Guild
Center for the Arts Guild 20221129 20221130
Pepperdine Choir and Orchestra Christmas Concert

Ryan Board and Long-Tao Tang, Directors

Thursday, December 1, 2022, 7:30 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20221201 20221202
Joy to the World
A Christmas Musical Journey featuring Damien Sneed

Sunday, December 4, 2022, 2 PM

Soul/Gospel/Jazz, Family Fun
Soul/Gospel/Jazz, Family Fun 20221204 20221205
Pepperdine Jazz and Wind Ensembles

Vincent Trombetta and Long-Tao Tang, Directors

Wednesday, December 7, 2022, 7:30 PM

Jazz
Jazz 20221207 20221207
Chamber Music Concert Guitar

Louise Lofquist, Director

Thursday, December 8, 7:30 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20221208 20221208
Tommy Emmanuel

Sponsored by Ellen and Doug Weitman

Friday, December 16, 2022, 8 PM

Fan Favorites
Fan Favorites 20221216 20221216
Blind Boys of Alabama
with Special Guest Charlie Musselwhite

Tuesday, January 17, 2023, 8 PM

Fan Favorites, Soul/Gospel/Jazz
Fan Favorites, Soul/Gospel/Jazz 20230117 20230117
Into the Woods

The Luciana and Daniel Forge Fall Musical

Friday, November 11–Saturday, November 19, 2022

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 20221120 20221120
Pacific Ballet Dance Theatre
Pacific Ballet Dance Theatre

Delight the entire family with dances that include Land of the Snow, The Sugar Plum Fairy, Waltz of the Flowers, The Nutcracker, The Little Match Girl, and Les Patineurs (The Skaters Waltz).  

Saturday, December 10 - Sunday, December 11, 2022, 8:00 PM & 2:30 PM

Rental
Rental 20221210 20221212
Laila Biali

Saturday, January 21, 2023, 8 PM

Pop/Rock/Folk, Singer-Songwriter, Soul/Gospel/Jazz
Pop/Rock/Folk, Singer-Songwriter, Soul/Gospel/Jazz 20230121 20230122
Pilobolus

Wednesday, January 25, 2023, 8 PM

Dance and Spectacle
Dance and Spectacle 20230125 20230126
Ying Li

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, January 29, 2023, 2 PM

Recital Series
Recital Series 20230129 20230130
Cirque FLIP Fabrique

 

Wednesday, February 1, 2023, 7:30 PM

Family Fun, Dance and Spectacle
Family Fun, Dance and Spectacle 20230201 20230202
Parkening Master Class Spring

Christopher Parkening, Director

Saturday, February 18, 2023, 2 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20230218 20230219
HMS Pinafore

The Flora L. Thornton Opera Program

Thursday February 23, 2023 and Saturday, February 25, 2023

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music, Pepperdine Theatre 20230223 20230226
Dance in Flight

Presented by Pepperdine Student Activities

Thursday, February 9, 2023–Saturday, February 11, 2023

Student Productions
Student Productions 20230209 20230212
Spring Lindhurst Show

Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - Saturday, January 28, 2023

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 20230124 20230129
Hitting New Heights
Mandy Gonzalez and Javier Muñoz

Saturday, March 4, 2023, 8 PM

Stars of Stage and Screen
Stars of Stage and Screen 20230304 20230305
Adam Sadberry

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, March 5, 2023, 2 PM

Recital Series
Recital Series 20230305 20230306
Trey McLaughlin

Wednesday, March 8, 2023, 8 PM

Global Sounds, Soul/Gospel/Jazz
Global Sounds, Soul/Gospel/Jazz 20230308 20230309

Pablo Sainz-Villegas

Sponsored by the Flamminio family

Thursday, March 23, 2023, 8 PM

Global Sounds
Global Sounds 20230323 20230324
Flamenco Vivo

Tuesday, March 21, 2023, 8 PM

Dance and Spectacle
Dance and Spectacle 20230321 20230322
Maria Ioudenitch

Part of the Recital Series

Sunday, April 2, 2023, 2 PM

Recital Series
Recital Series 20230402 20230403
Acoustic Rooster

Presented by The Kennedy Center Theater for Young Audiences on Tour

Saturday, April 15, 2023, 11 AM and 1 PM

Family Fun
Family Fun 20230415 20230416
Megan Hilty

Tuesday, April 18, 2023, 8 PM

Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen
Fan Favorites, Stars of Stage and Screen 20230418  20230419
Pepperdine Wind Ensemble

Long-Tao Tang, Director

Wednesday, March 15, 2023, 7:30 PM

Student Productions, Pepperdine Music
Student Productions, Pepperdine Music 20230315  20230316
Pickford Ensemble

N. Lincoln Hanks, Director

Tuesday, April 11, 2023, 7:30 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20230411 20230412
Orchestra Masterworks Concert

Long-Tao Tang, Director

Thursday, April 13, 2023, 7:30 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20230413 20230414
Pepperdine Choir Masterworks Concert

Ryan Board, Director

Sunday, April 16, 2023, 7 PM

Pepperdine Music, Student Productions
Pepperdine Music, Student Productions 20230416 20230417
Americana

By Morna Young,
Cathy Thomas-Grant, Director

Wednesday, April 5, 2023 - Saturday, April 8, 2023

Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre 
Student Productions, Pepperdine Theatre  20230405 20230409